Miller Place Students Talk Business

11 Miller Place Students Recognized for Excelling at FBLA Competition

Miller Place, N.Y. (January 2020)—Miller Place School District is proud to congratulate 11 students at Miller Place School District for recently competing at the Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) District Competition at Hofstra University in Hempstead. Miller Place’s business students ranked in both written and performance events including accounting, advertising, business calculations, business communications, business law, entrepreneurship, introduction to financial math, marketing, word processing.

Congratulations to Chris Sun, 2nd place in Accounting 1; Colin Brennan, 3rd place in Accounting 1; Alexis Franzoni, 2nd place in Advertising; Larry Davis, 4th place in Business Calculations; Larry Davis, 1st place in Business Communications; Jodie Cui, 2nd place in Business Communications; Marena Capocci, 4th place in Business Law; Ana Voskresenskaja, 3rd place in Entrepreneurship; Cadence Masino, 5th place in Introduction to Financial Math; Bella Buonovolanta, 3rd place in Marketing; and Tristan Stapleton, 4th place in Word Processing.

FBLA inspires and prepares students to become community-minded business leaders in a global society through relevant career preparation and leadership experiences. FBLA is the largest career student business organization in the world and assists more than 230,000 students prepare for careers in business. FBLA competitions recognize and reward student excellence in a broad range of business and career-related areas.

MP Announces OAK and OAK Recipients

Twenty-One Students at Miller Place High School Recognized for Exceptional Character and Academic Excellence

Miller Place School District (MPSD) is proud to announce that twenty-one exceptional students from Miller Place High School were recognized for their random acts of kindness and exceptional academic achievement during the District’s annual Outstanding Acts of Kindness (OAK) and Outstanding Academic Recognition (OAR) Awards Ceremony.

“Congratulations to our 21 students who continue to represent the District and our community with exceptional pride and character,” said Dr. Marianne Cartisano, superintendent of Miller Place School District. “I am proud to recognize these students for their active participation in extracurriculars, commitment to being positive role models for peers, and academic excellence. These distinguished students are a representation of what all Miller Place educators seek to inspire throughout our District.”

Students who receive the OAK Award display selfless behavior and inspire peers with their kindness. Recipients of the OAK award this year include Julianne Cerato, Hailey Koppelman, Madison Murphy, Adam Tarsia, Erin Matthews, Thomas Cirrito, Jason Cirrito, Danielle Cirrito, and Rowen Rivera.

To meet the requirements for the OAR Award, students must excel academically and successfully rise to the educational challenges presented to them. Recipients of the OAR Award this year are Cole Asparro, Matthew Murray, Colton Young, Shaun Mooney, Justin Klotz, Sean OConnor, Madaline Martin, James Duffy, Meghan Connolly, Hannah Cantone, Kate Doyle, and Thomas Ventiquattro. These students have either met long-term goals or are students who have exhibited commendable improvement.

Coupons for Character

Miller Place, N.Y. (January 2020)—Last year, North Country Road Middle School (NCRMS) in Miller Place kicked off its Coupons for Character initiative to reward its students who serve as positive role models, promote respect and help NCRMS build a caring school community. Each month, students who have demonstrated exceptional character have their name placed into a container in the main office and at the end of the month, three students’ names are randomly selected to receive a prize for their leadership. Additionally, each student whose name made it into the jar receives a letter home in recognition for their commitment to making NCRMS a great place to learn and gain leadership skills.

For October, NCRMS’s recipients were Edwin Rubio, Rowan Elder and Adrian Tamayo. For November, the recipients were William Spagnolo, Jason Murray, and Erik Flannery. Most recently, December’s recipients were Alex Villanella, Noah Squires, and Jake Siegel.

NCRMS’s October Coupons for Character Recipients
NCRMS’s November Coupons for Character Recipients
NCRMS’s December Coupons for Character Recipients