Miller Place Brings “Munchkinland” to the Teeny Awards

Students received several nominations and performed at East End Arts High School theater award show

Miller Place High School actors, set designers, musicians and more followed the “yellow brick road” from their hometown stage to that of the East End Arts’ 20th Annual Teeny Awards, where they were nominated in several categories and performed a number from their spring production of The Wizard of Oz.

The annual high school theater award show, whose name is a reference to the Tony Awards, recognized Miller Place High School among 20 other schools across Suffolk County during a ceremony on June 5 at Riverhead High School. Much like the Tony’s, the Teeny Award ceremony includes performances from participating schools and Miller Place students dazzled the crowd with their rendition of “Munchkinland.”

“Our theater productions are always a collaborative effort that would not be possible without the dedication and talent of our actors, dancers, musicians, designers and everyone involved. I’m so proud of the students who brought The Wizard of Oz to life and it’s an honor to see their efforts recognized by East End Arts and on display at the Teeny Awards,” said Miller Place High School Principal Kevin Slavin.  

The Teeny Awards has been celebrating outstanding performances and remarkable behind-the-scenes work in high school theater since 2002. Anonymous volunteer judges with backgrounds in theatre attend high school productions in Suffolk County throughout the year to select nominations before the winners are decided by a judging committee.

MPHS student Kai Schiera received accolades for his portrayal of the Scarecrow, for which he was nominated for Best Lead Male in a musical.

MPHS student Julianne Donohue was nominated for Outstanding Choreography in a play or musical, specifically for her choreography in the musical numbers “Munchkinland,” “Poppies,” “Merry Land of Oz,” and “Jitterbug.”

Technical Recognition Honorees from Miller Place included Julianne Donohue, as dance captain and student choreographer, Emma Balamoti, as assistant student director and lighting designer, and Violeta Valencia, as a stage crew member.

Several pit orchestra members also received technical recognitions, including Abigail Beers on viola, Analynn Bisiani on reed 1, Brennos Blake on cello, Liliana Bosshard on cello, Lucy Chang on violin, Bernard Creedon on trumpet, Eileen Duffy on violin, Kyle Fehling on reed 2, Jacob Huwer on violin, Giovanna Kalin on piano, Grace Lassiter on viola, James Loughlin on percussion, Maura Luby on trombone, Sean Muller on percussion, Abigail O’Connor on reed 3, Nailah Rahman on bass, Kyle Reese on English horn, Diya Saini on orchestra flute, Jack Serrentino on trumpet, Emma Venegoni on oboe, and Brandon Zou on violin.

For more information about the Miller Place School District, please visit the District’s website at To read more about the great things happening in Miller Place schools, visit and ‘like’ our Facebook page.

Miller Place High School students were nominated in several categories at the East End Arts’ 20th annual Teeny Awards for their spring production of “The Wizard of Oz.”
The annual high school theater award show, whose name is a reference to the Tony Awards, recognized Miller Place High School among 20 other schools across Suffolk County during a ceremony on June 5 at Riverhead High School.
In addition to attending the award ceremony, students performed “Munchkinland” from their spring production of “The Wizard of Oz.”

Miller Place School District Seeks Nominations for its Athletic Hall of Fame – Deadline of June 27

New class will be inducted during Homecoming weekend

A new group of talented athletes who have made a lasting impact on their community and beyond will be inducted into the Miller Place School District Athletic Hall of Fame during this year’s Homecoming weekend, from September 16 to 18.

First, inductees must be chosen from a pool of nominees. The MPSD Athletic Hall of Fame Committee is currently accepting nominations for graduates through the Class of 2000 and invites anyone with a candidate in mind to apply. 

Forms for new applicants, or any updates to current nominees, must be postmarked by June 27. No verbal nominations will be considered. The Committee will finalize its voting process by July 15 and immediately begin notifying selected candidates.

Categories for submission include athletes, coaches/administrators, and honorary members. Honorary members are those individuals who though they were not athletes or coaches or district administrators, have supported or made a significant contribution to the Miller Place School District athletic program.

Athletes will be considered based on their athletic accomplishments and/or impact on an athletic program in high school and/or after graduation. Nominees must have character, leadership and citizenship that is representative of the Hall of Fame honor.

Coaches and administrators will be considered if they have made an outstanding contribution, shown leadership, reached an accomplishment and/or made an impact on Miller Place Athletic programs. Coaches still employed by the district are eligible for three years after separating from the sport. Retired coaches/administrators are immediately eligible after retirement.

Nomination forms are available on various social media platforms, including the MPHS Athletic Hall of Fame Facebook page, @mphs_athletic_hof Instagram page, MPSD Facebook page and MPSD Athletics Website. Good luck to all the candidates and thank you to everyone who have already submitted a nomination.