MP Announces OAK and OAK Recipients

Twenty-One Students at Miller Place High School Recognized for Exceptional Character and Academic Excellence

Miller Place School District (MPSD) is proud to announce that twenty-one exceptional students from Miller Place High School were recognized for their random acts of kindness and exceptional academic achievement during the District’s annual Outstanding Acts of Kindness (OAK) and Outstanding Academic Recognition (OAR) Awards Ceremony.

“Congratulations to our 21 students who continue to represent the District and our community with exceptional pride and character,” said Dr. Marianne Cartisano, superintendent of Miller Place School District. “I am proud to recognize these students for their active participation in extracurriculars, commitment to being positive role models for peers, and academic excellence. These distinguished students are a representation of what all Miller Place educators seek to inspire throughout our District.”

Students who receive the OAK Award display selfless behavior and inspire peers with their kindness. Recipients of the OAK award this year include Julianne Cerato, Hailey Koppelman, Madison Murphy, Adam Tarsia, Erin Matthews, Thomas Cirrito, Jason Cirrito, Danielle Cirrito, and Rowen Rivera.

To meet the requirements for the OAR Award, students must excel academically and successfully rise to the educational challenges presented to them. Recipients of the OAR Award this year are Cole Asparro, Matthew Murray, Colton Young, Shaun Mooney, Justin Klotz, Sean OConnor, Madaline Martin, James Duffy, Meghan Connolly, Hannah Cantone, Kate Doyle, and Thomas Ventiquattro. These students have either met long-term goals or are students who have exhibited commendable improvement.